Lessons an Introduction

Welcome to my lessons. The way I’m going to do these lessons corresponds to the way I study. There will be several podcasts a thematic reference for the week’s lesson.  You might be thinking “What? One subject per week. That’s so slow!”  It’s not slow at all. Considering how much there is to learn from one podcast it’s just right. However, in order to really learn from the podcasts I will be expanding them with other easier podcasts from the Newbie level (ChinesePod.com), providing character profiles, character drills, textbook references and worksheets. These will make up the whole lesson. I’m always open to suggestions though, so let me know if there is something I can change to make it more useful. As we progress I guess the dynamics will change.

You might be wondering “How do I study?” I can’t guarantee that the way I study will be the best way for you to study, but it might be a kind of guide. Here’s what I suggest:

1. Listen to each podcast (~3 times): To train your ears you want to just focus on listening.

2. Look at the pdf I offer as a reference: I make all the pdfs myself and do not charge for any of them, that’s just my thing. I’m not a Chinese teacher so I wouldn’t feel right charging for them anyways.

3. Listen to the podcast again and make sure you understand everything.

4. Read the dialogue and the vocabulary yourself, you can even try to record it (and send it to me if you’d like me to correct it).

5. Do the character profiles and character drills for the lesson.

6. Do the exercises or worksheets I provide.

7. Expand! This can include looking up something on the web, writing your own dialogue, etc. I will include this in the lesson as a separate exercise and you can send it to me to correct if you’d like.

This is a guide for those at a high elementary level, if you’re at a maybe low elementary level just do what you can. The point is to be practicing at any time.

And remember if you have any questions don’t be afraid to leave a comment!

One response to “Lessons an Introduction

  1. Pingback: 你好 | Mandarin with Manu·

Leave a Reply

