Characters and Challenge

Guess what? I signed up for the Chinese character challenge on Hacking Chinese. It’s actually a good thing I found this website early on in my blog because it’s given me a lot of inspiration on how to learn characters and thus, provide study materials. My goal is to be able to write the 1000 most common characters by May/June. I’m using this blog and skritter to help me with my goal. I’ll be posting reports as time goes on.

With that said, check out the new kind of character sheets.

character1

As you can see there are few characters and basically no actual practice boxes. That’s because it’s your task to go and look for stroke order (nciku is my favorite) and if you want character sheets check out the resource page. In the image I provide a kind of etymology-mnemonic for the characters. These characters sheets include three characters: 厅 (tīng) 馆(guǎn) 店 (diàn). They are a bit related as you can tell from the vocabulary words 餐厅,饭馆,饭店 (restaurant). (Check out the Notes in the Vocabulary Lesson 1 post.) I chose these three to start with because actually knowing them is helpful in the sense that you would know what kind of place they signaled.

For example, what do you think the difference between 书店 and 图书馆 (without knowing what 图 means)?

-We might guess that 书店 (lit. book shop) is a place where they sell books. Where 图书馆 (lit. picture/map books public building) suggest that the books are in a public building, that is, a library. Go us.

I hope the images help. If you would like to also have the character sheets with the characters on the side let me know. Have fun and tell me what you think!

Leave a Reply

